“Where there’s life there’s hope.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit

23 January 2015

Today was another lecture day. A bit boring, but we covered Margret Thatcher and Punk music so it was better than most. I don’t know if I can stress enough how interesting it is to get a look at a country that was in decline post-world war II. It just seems strange, though I knew that Britain suffered after the war, knowing how much surprises me.

I learned more about the Punk movement than I ever had before, which included looking at the Sex Pistols, The Clash and so on. I think I’ll come back and do a post on British Punk Bands and the decline of Britain at a later date, I’m a bit tired now.

The real highlight of today was dinner, which was spaghetti cooked by one of my new friends. We also had Welsh Cakes, which are these little pancake like things. They are smaller and thicker than a regular pancake but the texture is similar. Also, Welch Cakes have currants in them, (The only different in raisins and currant are the type of grape used from what I understand) and they are very sweet tasting.

It was really nice having dinner with a friend as I was able to meet three students from Brazil, and next week someone is making pizza! It’s also been raining and has been for the last several hours so it’s kind of nice to see the rain that I was promised when I came here.

Well that’s all for tonight, tomorrow I have a trip to Cardiff and St. Fagans so I’m sure that will be wonderful.

Kaylin, at your service.

Leave a comment